A rough month got even worse this week for European pro Tom Murray.
The Englishman played this year on the Challenge Tour, the Web.com Tour equivalent in Europe. With 15 players earning promotion to the European Tour for 2019, Murray finished the regular season at No. 16 – missing out on a card by only 604 Euros across the entire season.
So Murray instead went back to Q School to try to earn a promotion in Europe, and he appeared in position to do just that after starting the six-round gauntlet in Spain with scores of 66 and 70. But the 28-year-old was disqualified after the second round for signing an incorrect scorecard.
As it turned out, his score of 70 was correct – but the individual scores on two of the holes were wrong, with one a stroke higher and one a stroke lower. Under Rule 6-6, that combination merits a disqualification even when the overall score is accurate.
So we’re leaving Q School having been DQd. Signed for 70 which was correct but two holes were incorrect, one higher one lower. My fault completely but still just as horrible. Rough end to the season but we will be back stronger 💪🏼 @ETQSchool
— Tom Murray (@TomMurrayGolf) November 12, 2018
Murray, whose lone Challenge Tour win came back in 2015, is currently ranked No. 369 in the world and was a runner-up at the Kazakhstan Open in September.