Houston Open contender incurs penalty for picking up ball

Houston Open contender incurs penalty for picking up ball
Rate this post


Adam Schenk made a costly mistake Saturday at the HPE Houston Open.

Playing in the penultimate group, Schenk was penalized a shot after picking up his ball in the fifth fairway early in his third round at Memorial Park Golf Course, according to PGATour.com. After playing each of his last four rounds on the PGA Tour with preferred lies in effect, Schenk mistakenly though lift, clean and place was being used again.

The mishap was in violation of Rule 9.4, and after incurring the one-stroke penalty, Schenk replaced his ball and proceeded to bogey the hole, his first dropped shot of the round.

Full-field scores from the Hewlett Packard Enterprise Houston Open

Schenk, who birdied his opening hole, added bogeys at Nos. 8 and 12 to shoot 2-over 72. Surprisingly, though, he didn’t lose ground on the lead. Starting the day four shots back of Martin Trainer, Schenk ended Saturday tied for 10th at 4 under, three back of Scottie Scheffler.

Source: GolfChannel

Share this post

Post Comment